On August 28th, 1934, W.J.Major and his family arrived in Powassan, Ontario. Shortly thereafter, Services, Sunday School and Prayer Meetings were being held in the rented premises of the Anglican parsonage and planning soon began for a new church building.
The following year, the school at Sharpes Corners near Powassan became the meeting place for the congregation during the summer months. The home of Mr.Robert Anderson was used during the winter. In 1937, just 3 years after the arrival of Rev. Major, a new church was built on property donated by Mr. Anderson.
In 1947, the congregation had outgrown this building, so a new church was built at 380 Mill Street, Powassan. A series of pastors and their families served the congregation well at this site until it was sold in September 1988. Services were held for a short time at the Powassan Junior Public School pending completion of our current worship centre on Big Bend Avenue, Powassan.
Our building at 204 Big Bend Avenue is a well maintained, modern, spacious and comfortable facility. The Sanctuary seats approximately 175 on comfortable padded pews. It is wheelchair accessible. We have a terrific sound system with Hearing assistive devices. Our worship is a blend of traditional and more modern praise and chorus music led by a worship team using a variety of instruments. Messages are Biblical. Give us a call or come by for a visit.
All are welcome to come worship and fellowship with us.